HIGH HOPES

A wise man once said: “Late is better than never”.

I wrote this prescription a while ago. Reading today’s post on Daily prompt, I couldn’t but remember it. I hope you will find it interesting and helpful. Remember to hold on to your hopes.

In Response To Daily Prompt:

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/22/prompt-young/

Trust Your Heart By : Ehab Shawky

Image

To see a dream come true

How would it feel?!

To see a dream come true

What distances should I walk , in which ways and what should I do?!

Where is my destiny leading me to?

I don’t have a clue

Do I still have chances, or all my chances away I blew?

If only I knew ; I wouldn’t have been so blue

I Got older & despair inside of me grew

My defenses disappeared from the view

My weapons ; into a deep well I threw

My hopes ; I try to eschew

Towards my last castle ; I withdrew

Image

Resorting to my heart it said “NO,

I won’t give up, we can have victory, I know.”

A faint light starts to glow

It starts resisting and struggles ensue

I may lose a battle , but winning the war is a must

My soul may sometimes be lost,

but in my heart it puts all trust

To shake off defeat’s dust

To give desperation a strong fight

Till it retrieves hope’s light

Drawing out its weapons with might

Standing firm for what’s right

Sending strike after strike

Building dike after dike

Strengthening its defenses once more

Knowing that there is still some hope worth fighting for

 Image

The dungeons of depression shall be torn down

& my hope shall breakthrough

Desperation ; it shall subdue

Its youth ; it shall renew

And as the trapped bird once flew

Again it shall fly and its freedom dream shall come true

As long as my heart beats, I shall try to learn, give and my best do

Time is like a sword

You either strike it defending yourself, or it shall strike you

I shall never give up infront of life’s blows

Till I succeed in taming the shrew

Image 

Deniers say in contempt: “The river of your hopes is too wide”

I look back in challenge and say:

“As long as I shall live I shall try to reach the other side,

I shall row against the stream,

I shall seek the help of those who share my dream,

Shoulder to shoulder, hand in hand

Together we shall strive and make our stand

Till we see our dream come true

With good company ; all dreams are possible

With my brothers and sisters ; I shall be undefeatable

Only the stray lamb gets eaten by the wolf

In good company I shall protect myself

I won’t let my life pass through

Till I see my dream come true

Deniers say: “Those are truly very high hopes to hold on to.”

I say: “They are my hopes & I shall never let go.”

Image

48 thoughts on “HIGH HOPES

    • “Time is like a sword. You either strike it defending yourself, or it shall strike you.”
      Actually these words were first said by a man named “Muhammad Ibn Idris Al-Shafe’i” back in the 8th century to his students, the original wording was in Arabic. He was trying to teach them never to say: “There is still plenty of time”, “I can do this later” or “This is not urgent, so let’s postpone it”, etc… These sentences that we always use as an excuse to be lazy, then with the course of time we find ourselves used to this and postponing all sorts of things in our lives.
      Since that time this sentence has turned to a very famous maxim used by all teachers with their students in the Arab world.
      I’m truly honored that you find my writings worthy.

  1. Pingback: The End | Black Rose

  2. Pingback: Phobophobia | Processing the life

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | On My Front Porch

  5. Pingback: It takes courage… | Words 'n Pics

  6. Pingback: Going through Childbirth | A mom's blog

  7. Pingback: Fear | victor's mind

  8. Pingback: Fear Factor: Courage – A Festival of Lights | Khana's Web

  9. Pingback: Arthur Overcomes The Fear Of Books, (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  10. Pingback: I’m afraid I forgot the title of this one . . . | Rob's Surf Report

  11. Pingback: Fear Factor | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  12. Pingback: Young at heart: The Ballad of the Fifty Something Rebel. Daily Prompt! | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  13. Pingback: The Click-Over | jigokucho

  14. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  15. Pingback: Daily prompt: Age | The Wandering Poet

  16. Pingback: How To Be Young Again | The Moon Head

  17. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  18. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  19. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  20. Pingback: Responsibly Immature | The Ravenously Disappearing Woman

  21. Pingback: Fountain of Youth Lies in the Silly | The Shotgun Girls

  22. Pingback: 50, Really, is NOT the New 30! | 365 Days of Thank You

  23. Pingback: Aging Is A Blessing | B.Kaotic

  24. Pingback: A Blog for Laura Lee

  25. Pingback: Young At Heart | Alexia Jones

Leave a Reply

